

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF GRIFFITH CITY COUNCIL HELD IN GRIFFITH CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON **TUESDAY, 9 JANUARY 2024 COMMENCING AT 7:00 PM**

PRESENT

The Mayor, Doug Curran in the Chair; Councillors, Glen Andreazza, Shari Blumer, Simon Croce, Jenny Ellis (ZOOM), Manjit Singh Lally, Melissa Marin, Anne Napoli, Christine Stead, Laurie Testoni and Dino Zappacosta

STAFF

General Manager, Brett Stonestreet, Director Utilities, Graham Gordon, Acting Director Infrastructure & Operations, Manjit Chugha, Director Business, Cultural, Financial Services, Steve Saffioti, Director Sustainable Development, Bruce Gibbs and Minute Taker, Joanne Bollen

MEDIA

The Area News, Cai Holroyd

COUNCIL ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Meeting opened with Councillor Glen Andreazza reading the Opening Affirmation and the Acknowledgement of Country.

A minute silence was held for the passing of Bianca Rossetto.

APOLOGIES AND REQUESTS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

24/001

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Glen Andreazza and Christine Stead that:

- (a) Apologies be received from Councillor Chris Sutton, Director Economic & Organisational Development, Shireen Donaldson and Director Infrastructure & Operations, Phil King and a leave of absence granted:
- (b) Councillor Jenny Ellis be granted approval to attend by audio-visual link.

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran Councillor Glen Andreazza

Councillor Shari Blumer Councillor Simon Croce

Councillor Jenny Ellis

Councillor Manjit Singh Lally

Councillor Melissa Marin

Councillor Anne Napoli

Councillor Christine Stead Councillor Laurie Testoni Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 11 votes to 0.

3 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

24/002

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Christine Stead and Manjit Singh Lally that the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of Council held in Griffith City Council Chambers on 12 December 2023, having first been circulated amongst all members of Council, be confirmed.

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran
Councillor Glen Andreazza
Councillor Shari Blumer
Councillor Simon Croce
Councillor Jenny Ellis
Councillor Manjit Singh Lally
Councillor Melissa Marin
Councillor Anne Napoli
Councillor Christine Stead
Councillor Laurie Testoni
Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 11 votes to 0.

4 BUSINESS ARISING

Nil.

5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Pecuniary Interests

Councillors making a pecuniary interest declaration are required to leave the meeting during consideration of the matter and not return until the matter is resolved.

Councillor Christine Stead

CL01 DA 145/2021 (2) Modification to Approved Recyclables Storage Facility – Waste Transfer Station

Reason – The company Councillor Stead works for has a related business with the supplier, Clean-Away.

Significant Non-Pecuniary Interests

Councillors making a significant non-pecuniary interest declaration are required to leave the meeting during consideration of the matter and not return until the matter is resolved.

Councillor Melissa Marin

CL01 DA 145/2021 (2) Modification to Approved Recyclables Storage Facility – Waste Transfer Station

Reason – Councillor Marin's husband will work for this company as part of contracted work.

Less Than Significant Non-Pecuniary Interests

Councillors making a less than significant non-pecuniary interest declaration may stay in the meeting and participate in the debate and vote on the matter.

Councillor Dino Zappacosta

DA 145/2021 (2) Modification to Approved Recyclables Storage Facility – Waste Transfer Station

Reason – Councillor Zappacosta has spoken to the applicants.

6 MAYORAL MINUTES

Nil

7 GENERAL MANAGER'S REPORT

Councillor Christine Stead left the meeting having declared a Pecuniary Conflict of Interest, the time being 7:06pm.

Councillor Melissa Marin left the meeting having declared a Significant Non-Pecuniary Conflict of Interest, the time being 7:06pm.

CL01 DA 145/2021(2) - MODIFICATION TO APPROVED RECYCLABLES STORAGE FACILITY (WASTE TRANSFER STATION)

24/003

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Laurie Testoni and Glen Andreazza that the meeting suspend standing orders to allow Greg Young to address Council.

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran

Councillor Glen Andreazza

Councillor Shari Blumer

Councillor Simon Croce

Councillor Jenny Ellis

Councillor Manjit Singh Lally

Councillor Anne Napoli

Councillor Laurie Testoni

Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 9 votes to 0.

24/004

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Glen Andreazza and Simon Croce that the meeting resume standing orders.

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran

Councillor Glen Andreazza

Councillor Shari Blumer

Councillor Simon Croce

Councillor Jenny Ellis

Councillor Manjit Singh Lally

Councillor Anne Napoli

Councillor Chris Sutton

Councillor Laurie Testoni

Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 9 votes to 0.

24/005

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Glen Andreazza and Anne Napoli that the report be raised from the table.

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran
Councillor Glen Andreazza
Councillor Shari Blumer
Councillor Simon Croce
Councillor Jenny Ellis
Councillor Manjit Singh Lally
Councillor Anne Napoli
Councillor Laurie Testoni
Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 9 votes to 0.

24/006

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Anne Napoli and Dino Zappacosta that Development Application 145/2021(2) be delegated to the Director Sustainable Development for the preparation and issue of the modified notice of determination, removing the deferred commencement condition, for a Recyclables Storage Facility (Waste Transfer Station) at 107-117 Willandra Avenue Griffith subject to conditions including those set out in Attachment H.

In accordance with the Local Government Action (section 375A - Recording of voting on planning matters) Council must record the Councillor's vote in relation to the matter.

For Against

Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Doug Curran Councillor Simon Croce Councillor Manjit Singh Lally Councillor Jenny Ellis

Councillor Anne Napoli Councillor Laurie Testoni Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 6 votes to 3.

Councillors Christine Stead and Melissa Marin returned to the meeting, the time being 7:39pm.

There being no further business the meeting terminated at 7:39pm.	

Confirmed:	
CHAIRPER	SON