

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF GRIFFITH CITY COUNCIL HELD IN GRIFFITH CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON TUESDAY, 7 MAY 2024 COMMENCING AT 7:00 PM

PRESENT

The Mayor, Doug Curran in the Chair; Councillors, Glen Andreazza, Shari Blumer, Simon Croce, Jenny Ellis, Manjit Singh Lally, Melissa Marin, Anne Napoli, Christine Stead, Chris Sutton, Laurie Testoni and Dino Zappacosta

STAFF

General Manager, Brett Stonestreet, Director Economic & Organisational Development, Shireen Donaldson, Director Utilities, Graham Gordon, Director Infrastructure & Operations, Phil King, Acting Director Business, Cultural, Financial Services, Max Turner, Director Sustainable Development, Bruce Gibbs and Minute Taker, Hannah Hall

MEDIA

Cai Holroyd, Area News

1 COUNCIL ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Meeting opened with Councillor Chris Sutton reading the Opening Affirmation and the Acknowledgement of Country.

2 APOLOGIES AND REQUESTS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

No apologies or requests for leave of absence were received.

3 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

24/127

For

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Glen Andreazza and Simon Croce that the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of Council held in Griffith City Council Chambers on 23 April 2024, having first been circulated amongst all members of Council, be confirmed.

Against

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

Councillor Doug Curran

Councillor Glen Andreazza

Councillor Shari Blumer

Councillor Simon Croce

Councillor Jenny Ellis

Councillor Manjit Singh Lally

Councillor Melissa Marin

Councillor Anne Napoli

Councillor Christine Stead

Councillor Chris Sutton Councillor Laurie Testoni Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 12 votes to 0.

4 BUSINESS ARISING

Nil

5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Pecuniary Interests

There were no pecuniary interests declared.

Significant Non-Pecuniary Interests

There were no significant non-pecuniary interests declared.

Less Than Significant Non-Pecuniary Interests

Councillors making a less than significant non-pecuniary interest declaration may stay in the meeting and participate in the debate and vote on the matter.

Councillor Anne Napoli

Rescission Motion

Reason – People known to me may have signed the petition

Councillor Christine Stead

Rescission Motion

Reason – I know members of the community that have signed the Petition that has been submitted.

6 MAYORAL MINUTES

Nil

7 GENERAL MANAGER'S REPORT

24/128

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Christine Stead and Dino Zappacosta that the Rescission Motion be brought forward.

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran

Councillor Glen Andreazza

Councillor Shari Blumer

Councillor Simon Croce

Councillor Jenny Ellis

Councillor Manjit Singh Lally

Councillor Melissa Marin

Councillor Anne Napoli

Councillor Christine Stead

Councillor Chris Sutton Councillor Laurie Testoni Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 12 votes to 0.

8 BUSINESS WITH NOTICE – RESCISSION MOTIONS

RESCISSION MOTION

24/129

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Anne Napoli and Christine Stead that:

"That the resolution:

- (a) Rehome and relocate all animals that are currently on display at the Lake Wyangan Picnic Area, and
- (b) Discontinue the permit for the exhibition of animals to the public as recommend in the Minutes the LAKE WYANGAN & CATCHMENT COMMITTEE HELD IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON THURSDAY 11 APRIL 2024, be rescinded."

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

For Against

Councillor Simon Croce
Councillor Manjit Singh Lally
Councillor Melissa Marin
Councillor Anne Napoli
Councillor Christine Stead
Councillor Dino Zappacosta

Councillor Doug Curran
Councillor Glen Andreazza
Councillor Shari Blumer
Councillor Jenny Ellis
Councillor Chris Sutton
Councillor Dino Zappacosta

Councillor Laurie Testoni

The division was declared TIED by 6 votes to 6.

The Mayor used his casting vote to vote **AGAINST** the motion. The motion was declared **LOST**.

CL01 ENDORSEMENT OF THE DRAFT DELIVERY PROGRAM 2022/23 - 2025/26 INCORPORATING THE DRAFT OPERATIONAL PLAN (BUDGET) FOR 2024/25 AND LONG TERM FINANCIAL PLAN ANNUAL REVIEW 2024/25 - 2033/34

24/130

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Glen Andreazza and Simon Croce that the meeting suspend standing orders to allow Mr Bill Lancaster to address Council.

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Shari Blumer Councillor Simon Croce Councillor Jenny Ellis

Councillor Manjit Singh Lally
Councillor Melissa Marin
Councillor Anne Napoli
Councillor Christine Stead
Councillor Chris Sutton

Councillor Laurie Testoni Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 12 votes to 0.

24/131

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Glen Andreazza and Chris Sutton that the meeting resume standing orders.

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Shari Blumer Councillor Simon Croce Councillor Jenny Ellis

Councillor Manjit Singh Lally Councillor Melissa Marin Councillor Anne Napoli Councillor Christine Stead Councillor Chris Sutton

Councillor Laurie Testoni Councillor Dino Zappacosta

The division was declared PASSED by 12 votes to 0.

24/132

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillors Glen Andreazza and Shari Blumer that:

- (a) Council endorse the Draft Endorsement of the Draft Delivery Program 2022/23 2025/26 incorporating the Draft Operational Plan (Budget) for 2024/25 and Long Term Financial Plan Annual Review 2024/25 2033/34.
- (b) Council place the draft documents as referred to in Recommendations (a) above on public exhibition for 28 days during which time a community consultation process will be undertaken.
- (c) Following the public exhibition period, the draft documents as referred to in Recommendation (a) above be presented to Council for adoption by 30 June, subject to any amendments resulting from community submissions received.

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

For Against

Councillor Doug Curran Councillor Melissa Marin Councillor Glen Andreazza Councillor Dino Zappacosta

Councillor Shari Blumer Councillor Simon Croce Councillor Jenny Ellis Councillor Manjit Singh Lally Councillor Anne Napoli Councillor Christine Stead

Councillor Chris Sutton Councillor Laurie Testoni

The division was declared PASSED by 10 votes to 2.

There being no further business the meeting terminated at 8:18 pm.
Confirmed:
CHAIRPERSON